Search the Archives

Glenn Mango tree

Glenn Mango tree

Dear all,

2 weeks ago I purchased a Glenn mango in a 15 gallon container. Initially the plant was really healthy looking and green ,however just yesterday I notice that on some of the leaves, the edges are turning white or slightly bronzed. I have a feeling I over fertilized the tree. Just some background, for the past 2 weeks(once a week), I completely flood the 15 gallon container and then apply miracle grower liquid plant food.

Is the damage irreversible or will it recover? Also any advice on how I stood care for it i.e watering, fertilizing. I live in Fremont, Ca and have it in my patio.

thanks very much,

Raj

The following thread was started by Raj on April 27, 2009 at 7:37 am PST

Probably OK

Raj:
I am not a Mango expert, I only own one Nam Doc Mi and not for long. Here is a little background and some suggestions. Hopefully someone else will chime in and confirm.
Mangos like HEAT, you will want to grow it in the full sun, not on your patio.
Mangos do not like wind.
Mangos like moist soil when the weather is hot but should be kept drier when the weather is cool.
Here is an excerpt from the CRFG website
Irrigation: Irrigation should start when the weather warms: February in the desert, April at the coast. Continue every one to two weeks, more often in light soils, nearly continuously in the desert, until the fruit is harvested. Irrigation may be discontinued when rains are sufficient to maintain soil moisture. In the greenhouse keep watered until the fruit is harvested, then reduce to the minimum required to avoid wilting. Watering is then increased after one to two months to initiate a new bloom and growth cycle.