• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

A forum for growing fruits and rare tropical and temperate fruits, and tending our orchards

Blossoms falling off Bacon avo tree?

Postby jackth29 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:23 pm

jackth29

Climate Zone: Sunset Zone 23
Hi everyone! My bacon avocado tree started to bloom about 2 weeks ago. There are still a lot of buds and flowers but I've noticed that some of the buds have started dying and falling off over the past 4 or 5 days. However, most are still staying on thankfully. Is it normal for some of the blossoms to fall off or am I doing something wrong? Is it kind of a "survival of the fittest" thing going on where only the best blossoms stay on and turn into avocados? I'm very new to all of this so Im not quite sure what to expect yet. Thanks for any help on this matter!

Also, I had read someone say that they had never seen an avocado tree produce fruit in a pot (it might have been another website some time ago). I have my Hass planted in the ground but I am currently re-landscaping my backyard and can't plant my new bacon and reed trees in the ground yet. I just planted them each in their own 30" diameter, about 24" high pot. Compared to the tiny pots I bought them in, the new pots seem like more than enough space but I want to get your opinion. Do you think they'd be able to produce fruit? I can provide pictures soon. Thanks so much to everyone, I really appreciate how helpful this forum has been as I've been getting started. :D

Re: Blossoms falling off Bacon avo tree?

Postby Axel » Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:12 pm

Axel
Site Admin

Climate Zone: sunset 15/USDA 9b
It's normal for avocados to drop blossoms, and if your trees are young, you shouldn't let them fruit anyway so that they can put all their energy into getting established.