• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

Please welcome new members here and if you have not introduced yourself yet, take a minute to let people know a little bit about yourself.

Another newbie from Costa Rica

Postby biesanz » Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:27 am

biesanz

Climate Zone: 11+ sort off,cooler
Hello all,

I live at 4500' in the Central Vally of Costa Rica, with a coastal farm and forest on the Central Pacific. I'm a woodworker and turner.

My wife and I have been restoring wildlife habitat and re-introducng missing tree species for over 20 years. Been growing and beginning to work several types of clumping bamboos, and recently found an interest in the palms.

We plant a lot of fruit trees for wildlife and us, from peaches to jackfruit, durian, champedak, zapotes, etc. Raise chickens, some cows, vegetables.

We have a pond and botanical garden at my shop, and give free tours to visitors.
see the FB page for Biesanz Woodworks.

All the best,

Barry

Re: Another newbie from Costa Rica

Postby Axel » Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:10 pm

Axel
Site Admin

Climate Zone: 12b/H2 & 10b/S23
Welcome to the Cloudforest. I am curious, what sort of palms do you grow?
Tropical gardening in both Kaua'i windward Sunset H2/USDA 12b and Fallbrook Sunset 23/USDA 10b.

Postby biesanz » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:05 am

biesanz

On the finca we have lots of Roostertail, or American Oil Palms, some Corozos, and Viscoyols, the skinny spiny clumping jobs with tasty fruit, all naturally occurring,

I have 3 Tagua I planted, finally with one in seed, afew Cuban Royals, lots of Peachpalms we planted, monkeys get all the fruit.

We also have some with black spines, I forget what that is called. Then I was given a bunch of varied palms, and lost a lot of labels, but do recall we have some Arecas and Caryotas, Chameadoras and Acachus - bet that's not the spelling..