• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

Please welcome new members here and if you have not introduced yourself yet, take a minute to let people know a little bit about yourself.

Hi from Fletch, Arroyo Grande CA

Postby Fletch » Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:39 pm

Fletch

Climate Zone: 9
Hi my name is Fletch. I'm a beginner Rare Fruit Enthusiasts from the Central Coast of California. I'm in Arroyo Grande about 1.5 miles from the beach up a coastal valley at aprox 400' elevation on a hill top that is nicely protected from frosts.

I got the bug to grow Rare Fruit last year while working in Hawaii for 3 months. The property I stayed at in Hawaii had tons of cool different fruit trees with as much fruit as I could eat. That's when I realized how fun it would be to try and grow rare fruit back home. I lived in Hawaii as a kid for a few years and have some experience working on my uncles arabica coffee farm. Now back at home in AG, CA I have over 50 varieties of Fruit trees/plants and still wanting more.

I am a new member to the The Cloudforest Gardner, cloudforest.com but over the last months I have done many searches on Rare Fruits that have referred me to the awesome source of information that you all have created on The Cloudforest Gardner,  cloudforest.com so thank you very much everyone.

Some of my current Goals:
-Become a member of CRFG SLO and attend a meeting (I just found 
 out about CRFG).
-Increase my grafting skills
-Plant stuff I grafted if possible (It could be a longer process but I
 think it will be a rewarding feeling)
-Gain fruit tree/plant growing knowledge with emphasis on identifying the
 needs of my plants and how to organically amend, fertilize and 
 protect them.
-Establish windbreaks consisting of all edible plants.
-Research and get the finest Avocado Cultivars and plant  them (part of long term
plan for future shade trees for coffee and other under canopy type plants).
-Gain any mentoring I can.