• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

Please welcome new members here and if you have not introduced yourself yet, take a minute to let people know a little bit about yourself.

My garden

Postby SanDiegoRob » Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:44 pm

SanDiegoRob

Climate Zone: 10
HI I'm Rob from Vista, California. (Zone 10 I think?) I bought a house 2 years ago and I just wanted to put in a couple of avocado trees and mandarins. But.. the list keeps growing! I enjoy reading all of the posts and advice on cloud forest to help my own garden because I am a rookie.
Here is what I have planted so far......

Avocado: Walterhole, Daily 11, Gem, Little-cado, Sir Prize, Reed, Queen, Pinkerton, Nimloh, Mexicola Grande, Lamb Hass, Kona, Jan Boyce, Helen, Hass, Fuerte
Cherries: Royal Rainer, Mini Royal, Royal Lee, Lapins, Cherry Plums (delight and sprite)
Peacotom
4-in-1 Pluots (3)
Nectaplum
Pakistan Mulberry
Snowqueen Nectarine
Red Barron Peach
20th Century Pear
Big Jim Loquat
Weeping Santa Rosa Plum
Mission Fig
Cotton Candy Aprium
Citrus: Red Smith, Tango, Cara Cara, Gold Nugget, Yosemite, Tahoe, Satsuma, Washington Navel, Bearas Lime, 3 Lemons, Clementine
Apples: My newest adventure is growing a 'Belgian Fence' with 14 different apple trees.

All of this on a 1/3 acre!

My daughter bought me a graphting knife and I've been graphting ever since. I took down an unknown apricot tree and I put 50 grafts in it. Only half are successful. A nursery just pruned all of their trees and gave me the branches so I filled up my truck.

My trees are new though, my only fruit are the mandarins so far. I enjoy reading your posts, although I don't have any advice to give until I get more fruit! I check cloud forest everyday. Thanks.

Re: My garden

Postby RodneyS » Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:28 am

RodneyS
Cloudforest Guru

Climate Zone: USDA Zone 11a
Welcome to the CloudForest, Rob! Nice collection & space management

Postby Axel » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:27 pm

Axel