• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

Please welcome new members here and if you have not introduced yourself yet, take a minute to let people know a little bit about yourself.

Hello from SanDiego county

Postby cptmb » Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:02 pm

cptmb

Climate Zone: sunset zone 23
Just moved into a fixer upper place in sunset zone 23. The entire property (including the mini orchard) has not been well maintained for the last 10 years or so. Many of the trees are sick or dead or dying while some of the younger ones are doing okay. I'm a novice gardener lucky enough to be learning the ropes during the communication age. I'm a fishing capt. by trade and have spent half of my life on the water. Now that I'm getting older I'd like to spend more time on the beach. Farming and fishing have been in my family for generations upon generations. My grandfather on my mothers side was a fisherman. My grandfather on my fathers side was a tea farmer. They have long passed away so unfortunately their knowledge is lost to me. I'm pretty sure I have a green thumb, maybe too green in fact. I'd like to turn this property into a permaculture, saving what trees I can and planting new tropicals where old ones are lost. Lots of work but from what I can see the journey is a never ending one in the garden. I've already begun to make costly mistakes but that is another story for another discussion. Hope to meet you all in the future. Break a limb.

Re: Hello from SanDiego county

Postby RodneyS » Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:10 pm

RodneyS
Cloudforest Guru

Climate Zone: USDA Zone 11a
Greetings & welcome!

San Diego county has a lot of sources for fruit trees, both common & exotic. I also enjoy fishing, mostly 3/4 day ocean fishing, pier fishing & local park lake fishing. Where did your ship operate from? I've been out on boats operating from Seaforth landing and I'm aware of H&M landing.

Postby cptmb » Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:05 pm

cptmb