• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

Please welcome new members here and if you have not introduced yourself yet, take a minute to let people know a little bit about yourself.

Newbie from Modesto!

Postby jearl » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:25 pm

jearl

Climate Zone: usda zone 9
Hi My name is Jeff and I've been a lurker for a while, had difficulties logging in,.
I live in a small cookie cutter house on a postage stamp size lot in Modesto, Ca. Where cram as much trees as I can in.

As I mentioned, I have a small backyard, so I don't get to grow much. I'm interested in tropical fruit growing and palms.

I have limited experience with both, But I do have a nice juvenile dypsis decipiens in my front yard with about 4 to 5 ft of trunk and various other fruit and palms in my back. Especially fruiting bananas.

My latest interest is grafting... especially avocadoes.

I'm always looking for new varieties, especially the more cold tolerant types. So if you have scion wood that you would like to sale, share or trade.... let me know.

Re: Newbie from Modesto!

Postby Axel » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:35 pm

Axel
Site Admin

Climate Zone: 12b/H2 & 10b/S23
Hi Jeff, and welcome back. You're really not a newbie, if there was a way for me to grab the archives and count your posts in the old forum... Anyway, I should give you honorable "Cloudforest Expert" status - if I knew how to wrestle with the forum software and make it do that. :)

Anyway, I would love to see a picture of your dypsis decipiens and your fruit trees. Any lychees or longans this year?
Tropical gardening in both Kaua'i windward Sunset H2/USDA 12b and Fallbrook Sunset 23/USDA 10b.

Postby Runboy » Mon Oct 13, 2014 10:06 pm

Runboy

Climate Zone: 9?
This must be the guy in modesto that I have heard rumors of being able to grow a Rainbow eucalyptus from a seedling to over 8ft tall in a single season ;-)

Postby jearl » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:27 am

jearl