• facebook
  • myspace
  • reddit
  • stumble
  • twitter
  • rss
  • bookmark
  • email

Please welcome new members here and if you have not introduced yourself yet, take a minute to let people know a little bit about yourself.

Staying in Uganda

Postby jegindo » Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:23 am

jegindo

Climate Zone: 11
Hi, I am a biologist living in Kampala - Uganda - since beginning of 2002, and am a collector of rare exotic fruits.
As such I am always interested in exchanging seeds and can offer rare Ugandan species (tropical) found nowhere else.
KIndly, Søren Jegindø

Re: Staying in Uganda

Postby Jason (palo alto) » Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:05 pm

Jason (palo alto)
Cloudforest Expert

Climate Zone: Z17, 9b
Welcome! You are the same Søren who posts on the Rare Fruit Yahoo Group? If so, great to have you here. I read that group but never post.
What seeds are you looking for? I'm sure the seeds you have would be rare and welcome to many of the members here.

Postby nullzero » Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:55 pm

nullzero
Cloudforest Expert

Climate Zone: Sunset Zone 21
Welcome Søren Jegindø! Sounds like you are living in a very beautiful place. So many great hard to find fruits, vegetables, and herbs of Africa. I would love to trade some time, been reading through "Lost Crops of Africa" volumes recently.

Postby jegindo » Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:37 pm

jegindo

Thanks a lot - and yes, I am the very same - have been on the Rare Fruit Yahoo Group for several years - and just stumbled into this forum. Good to be here - and indeed Uganda is a beautiful place, I have been therefore almost 10 years.
Taking about the seeds I can offer - they are often harvested from the wild, and bought on the local markets. Most of them are rarely available from other sources, and all are tropical species, though it appears some are fairly hardy.

Postby Xipalma » Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:24 pm

Xipalma

Climate Zone: USDA 11